Plaud alternatives in 2026: a fair comparison
Plaud is the category leader. If you already press record for meetings, you may not need an alternative. This page is for people who want always-on capture, a lower price, or no audio archive, and it shows the trade-offs with sources.
What Plaud actually is
Plaud sells press-to-record note takers. The current lineup on Plaud's own shop page is the credit-card-shaped Note ($159), the slim Note Pro ($189), the wearable NotePin ($159) and the newer NotePin S ($179). Every device includes 300 free AI transcription minutes per month, and Plaud sells paid plans for people who need more. Plaud's own pages list the plans as Starter (free), Pro ($8.33 per month billed annually, 1,200 minutes) and Unlimited ($19.99 per month billed annually), plus a per-seat Team plan. Source: Plaud shop and plans page.
The company is large for a hardware category this young. In June 2026 Plaud said it had sold more than 2 million devices and that its subscription business had passed $100 million in annualized revenue, according to TechCrunch. TechCrunch also reported that Plaud's chief executive attributed much of that revenue to nearly half of device owners upgrading from the free plan to a paid one. That is a useful fact for a buyer: the hardware price is only part of what a heavy user pays.
Plaud is a strong default if you already start recordings on purpose. This guide does not argue otherwise. It exists for people who searched for an alternative and want the differences laid out with sources instead of a ranking with invented scores. If you are still comparing options beyond Plaud, Legend Memory also publishes a ranked guide to AI wearables, organized by the problem you are trying to solve.
Comparison at a glance
Sources are listed at the bottom of this page. Where a maker's page does not say, the cell says so instead of guessing.
| Device | Status | How you capture | Audio kept? | Price and plan | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plaud NotePin S | On sale | Tactile button on a pin, clip, lanyard or wristband | Yes. Plaud keeps the original recording and can sync it to its encrypted cloud | $179 hardware. 300 free min per month, paid plans above that | Meetings and conversations you choose to record |
| Plaud Note Pro | On sale | Tactile button on a card that attaches to a phone | Yes | $189 hardware. Same plans | Calls and larger rooms (four microphones) |
| Legend One | On sale | Always on, chest-worn pendant, Halo light while transcribing | No audio file is created. Text only | $499 including year 1 membership, $499 per year after, cancel anytime | People who do not want a press step or an audio archive |
| On sale | Side button, attaches with MagSafe | Yes, on the 64GB device and in the cloud | $139 listed. Free plan. Pro is $19.99 per month billed yearly | Plaud-style habit with a free software tier | |
| Omi | On sale | Pendant, worn on a cord, clip or wristband | Not stated on the product page | $129 listed (normally $179). Free plan, no subscription required | Open source and low price |
| Bee Pioneer | On sale in the US, iOS only | Wristband or clip. A press starts and stops capture | Not stated on the product page | $49.99. No subscription price listed on Bee's site | Cheapest way to try wearable capture |
| Limitless Pendant | Not sold since Dec 5, 2025 | Pendant (legacy) | Not applicable | Was $99 | Existing owners only |
| Friend | On sale | Companion necklace | Not a notes product | $249 (version 2.0) | Companionship, not note taking |
The full spec breakdown (microphones, battery, storage, weight) is on the Compare page, and a three-year cost model is on the costs page.
The field, product by product
Plaud Note, Note Pro, NotePin and NotePin S
All four are recorders first. You press a button, the device captures audio, and the Plaud app turns it into a transcript and summary. Plaud says it transcribes in 112 languages and lists compliance with SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and EN 18031 on its product pages. The NotePin S weighs 17.4 grams and lists up to 20 hours of continuous recording. It does not record phone calls because it has no vibration conduction sensor, per Plaud's own FAQ. The Note Pro has four microphones and a 16.4 foot pickup range. Source: NotePin S page, Note Pro page.
The nearest like-for-like alternative. Pocket has a side button you press to record, three microphones (two studio, one contact), a MagSafe mount, 64GB of storage and a listed four-day battery. Its free plan includes unlimited transcription at standard accuracy, with Pro at $19.99 per month billed yearly. Source: Pocket product page.
Legend One
Legend One is the product made by the team that operates this site, so read this paragraph with that in mind. It is a chest-worn pendant with three microphones that transcribes speech to text on the device and never creates an audio file. A Halo light shows whenever it is transcribing. Membership is $499 per year, the first year is included in the $499 price, and Legend states the three-year total as $1,497. Legend cannot play anything back, so if a transcript garbles a name you cannot replay the moment. Legend's own facts page says so. Source: Legend Memory: Legend One official facts and specifications (legendmemory.ai/blogs/the-archive/legend-facts).
Omi, Bee, Limitless and Friend
Omi is an open-source pendant with a free software plan. Bee is a $49.99 wristband sold in the US that works with iOS only. Limitless stopped selling its Pendant on December 5, 2025 after Meta acquired the company. Friend is a companion necklace and not a note taker. Details and sources for each are on the Compare page.
When Plaud is still the right buy
- You record scheduled meetings, calls and interviews, and you already remember to start them.
- You want audio you can replay to check a name, a number or a tone of voice.
- The free 300 minutes covers a normal month, or you are comfortable paying for a plan.
- You want the largest and most established hardware line in the category.
When an alternative is the point
- The conversations that matter were never labeled meetings, so nobody pressed a button.
- You do not want a library of audio recordings sitting in an app or a cloud account.
- You prefer one flat membership to hardware plus a metered plan.
- You want a lower entry price, in which case Pocket, Omi and Bee all list lower hardware prices than the NotePin S.
If the always-on case fits you, read the Plaud vs Legend page for the trade-offs in both directions. Legend's product page is at Legend One.
How we handle Legend on a Plaud comparison site
This site is operated by the team behind Legend Memory. That is a conflict of interest and we treat it like one. Legend appears in the same table as every other device, with the same columns. We print Legend's weaknesses next to its strengths, including that it has no playback and costs more over three years than most alternatives. Every outside number comes from the maker's own page or a named news outlet, and we date every price. The method is written out on the About page.
FAQ
What is the best Plaud alternative in 2026?
It depends on how you capture. Plaud sells press-to-record hardware and its own subscription. If the hard part for you is remembering to press record, an always-on wearable such as Legend One or Omi is a closer fit. If you want the same press-to-record habit with a free software tier and a lower hardware price, Pocket is the nearest like-for-like device. Limitless is no longer sold to new buyers.
Is Plaud still worth buying?
Yes, for many people. Plaud told TechCrunch in June 2026 that it has sold more than 2 million devices. If you already press record for meetings and the free 300 minutes or a paid plan covers your month, there is no need to switch.
Does Plaud charge a subscription?
Every Plaud device includes 300 free transcription minutes per month. Plaud sells paid plans above that: as listed on Plaud's site on September 29, 2026, Pro is $8.33 per month billed annually for 1,200 minutes, and Unlimited is $19.99 per month billed annually.
How is Legend different from Plaud?
Legend One is a chest-worn pendant that is always on, shows a Halo light while it transcribes, and never creates an audio file. Plaud devices record audio when you press the button. Legend costs $499 including the first year of membership and $499 a year after that. Plaud hardware is $159 to $189 with an optional paid plan.
Who publishes this site?
This site is operated by the team behind Legend Memory, which makes Legend One. We cover Plaud, Legend and other devices on the same terms, cite our sources on every page, and describe our method on the About page.
More questions are answered on the full FAQ.
Keep reading on this site
- Plaud alternative buyer guide: how to choose between press-to-record and always-on
- Plaud vs Legend: a straight comparison with the trade-offs
- Plaud subscription costs: three-year totals worked out from listed prices
Sources
Every outside claim on this page comes from one of these pages. Prices, plans and availability were checked on September 29, 2026 and can change.
- Plaud: shop and plans page
- Plaud: NotePin S product page
- Plaud: Note Pro product page
- TechCrunch: Plaud says its software business topped $100M in ARR (Jun 16, 2026)
- Pocket product page
- Omi product page
- Bee product page
- TechCrunch: Amazon acquires Bee (Jul 22, 2025)
- Limitless: message from Dan Siroker and customer FAQ
- The Gadgeteer: Friend AI Pendant gets a voice and the price jumps to $249 (Jul 31, 2026)
- Legend Memory: Legend One official facts and specifications (legendmemory.ai/blogs/the-archive/legend-facts)